UP council bypoll notification issued,guess which CM to contest…


On Tuesday the Election Commission sets in the motion for filling up four vacant UP Legislative Council seats by putting out the notification for the by-polls. There has been a guesstimate that Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath.

His two deputies and a minister could become legislators in the given set out of six-month period after assuming office by getting elected to the Upper House. Amrita Soni the chief electoral officer said that the notification was issued on Tuesday.The last date for filing nominationis 5th September and on the next day the scrutiny will be done. The withdrawal of candidature is 8th September.

The polling and the counting of the votes will be done on the very same day that is 15th of September.

The Election Commission had also announced on Tuesday the schedule for the by-poll to the fifth vacant in the council of UP, for which a notification will be put on 31st of August.

24th of August is the date announced by the Election Commission for the election schedule for the four vacant seats of the Legislative Council of Uttar Pradesh.

The deadline ends on 19th of September for Adityanath who took over as the Chief Minister on 19th of March, has to become a legislator within six months of assuming office.

Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya, dinesh Sharma, and Ministers Swatantra Dev Singh and Mohsin Raza are not member of either of the two houses.

Adiyanath and Maurya are still members of the Lok Sabha.

All of them have to get elected to either the assembly or the legislative council before September 19 — when they complete six months — in order to continue as ministers.

Adityanath can become this successive chief minister if he chooses the council route.After Akhilesh Yadav(SP) and Mayawati(BSP)

The four seats for which bypolls will be held on September 15 were vacated by MLCs Bukkal Nawab, Yashwant, Sarojini Agarwal and Ashok Bajpai – all members of the Samajwadi Party.

Another seat fell vacant when Thakur Jaiveer Singh, a former BSP MLC resigned from the party and joined BJP.

A speculation says that along with four colleagues, Adityanath could contest from these four seats.

Former chief minister Vishwanath Pratap Singh had become a member of UP Legislative Council in November 1980 after assuming the chief minister’s office in June 1980.

He later contested a by-election from Tindwari assembly constituency, and became a member of UP Legislative Assembly in 1981.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here